Posts Tagged ‘Poker Hall of Fame’

Poker Hall of Fame Inducts Carlos Mortensen and Todd Brunson

Monday, October 31st, 2016

Every year, around the final table of the World Series of Poker Main Event, the Poker Hall of Fame inducts new members. A lavish ceremony takes place honoring the individuals who are chosen as the best of the best in the poker world. For 2016, it was Carlos Mortensen and Todd Brunson who earned such honors. The ceremony took place last week and saw many of the living members of the Hall of Fame coming out to show support and enjoy the evening.

During his acceptance speech, Brunson stated that he would like to thank his mother, that she played a big role in his persona as well as in being a poker player. He learned valuable lessons from her in regards to the game, despite the fact that she has never played a hand. Brunson was comedic in his speech and discussed many stories he had about the poker world as he accepted his new spot.

Mortenson became the first European player to be inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame and earned the title by having proved he has what it takes on the poker felt during events around the world. The poker pro has quite the career, having earned the top spot as the all-time money winner for the World Poker Tour as well as earning the most WPT titles in the history of the World Poker Tour, tied with Gus Hansen and Anthony Zinno for this honor at three titles a piece.

As far as Brunson’s career is concerned, he has seen a successful career on the tournament circuit having won a WSOP bracelet and finished well in many WSOP events. Brunson has cashed out in WPT events as well as earned $4.3 million overall during his career.

Both men are well-deserved of the honor and join the members of the Poker Hall of Fame, ready to vote next year when the process begins anew.

Poker Hall of Fame Nominations Begin

Wednesday, July 23rd, 2014

file4741238088930The Poker Hall of Fame is a group of individuals who have been nominated to be in the exclusive group as a result of their contribution to the game. Once the World Series of Poker concludes, the nominations begin for the Poker Hall of Fame. The nomination process takes place over several weeks and the eventual inductees usually attend the induction ceremony at the same time as the final table of the WSOP main event.

The Poker Hall of Fame currently has 46 members, of which 21 are still living. Included in the members are: Scotty Nguyen, Tom McEvoy, Dan Harrington, Erik Seidel, Mike Sexton, Phil Hellmuth, Jack Binion, Benny Binion, David Reese, Doyle Brunson and many more. To join this elite group of individuals, nominees will have to meet a certain criteria.

To be considered, players need to have played against top competition that are knowledgeable in the game. Players need to be at least 40 during the time of nominations and have played for high stakes, and consistently well. Individuals must have the respect of their peers and stood the test of time with the game. If nominated and not a player of poker, the individual must have contributed to the overall growth of the game with positive and long-lasting results.

Nominations can be made by the public via online submissions until the 15th of August. After this time, the nominations will be sent to a nominating committee. The submissions will then be reviewed and the final list of candidates will be selected. Others can be added by the committee if decided. The final list is made public in September and the voting can then take place. The official voters of the Poker Hall of fame are current members as well as selected members of the media. Once selected, the inductees will attend a ceremony in November.

Ten Finalists Chosen for Poker Hall of Fame Consideration

Thursday, September 26th, 2013

It’s that time of year again. The poker industry is getting ready to induct the latest members of the Poker Hall of Fame and this year ten finalists are being considered. It is most likely that only two players will be chosen as finalists for induction. The induction is based on a vote of the Hall of Fame members and a media panel. The voting process is scheduled to end on October 11th.

There are several who have been chosen for nomination that is very well known in the industry. Jennifer Harman is up for induction and is considered to be the best female player ever to play the game. She has a long standing career in cash game play and has earned close to $2.5 million in tournament game play.

Mike Matusow is another player who is well-known in the poker industry. He is one of the big personalities of the game and known specifically for his Mouth! The pro is known to trash talk competitors and can back up his ‘mouth’ with four WSOP bracelets and over $8.5 million in earnings.

Huck Seed is also up for induction and is known for being a top live competitor. Scotty Nguyen, yeah baby, is up for induction and is also one of the most recognizable players in the game. The pro has earned around $11.7 million playing the game.

Also nominated is Carlos Mortensen, a forty one year old Spanish poker player. Mortensen is considered a top tournament player and has earned just over $11 million as well in game play. He even finished in 10th place during the 2013 main event of the WSOP.

Other players nominated for induction are:

Chris Bjorin

Humberto Brenes

David Chiu

Thor Hansen

Tom McEvoy


2013 Poker Hall of Fame Nominations to Begin

Thursday, July 4th, 2013

With the 2013 World Series of Poker in full swing, it is that time of year again to begin nominating players for the Poker Hall of Fame. This past Wednesday was the first day that public nominations were available for the Hall of Fame and two members will be inducted later this year after nominations are set and voting takes place.

The public voting and submissions will end on August 15th. The list of those nominated will be given to the Hall of Fame Committee and those nominated will be reviewed thoroughly. The list will then be cut down to a lesser number and any players who may have been overlooked will be added to the list. Once the nominating committee has reviewed the list, the Hall of Fame members will then vote for their selection. Certain members of the poker media will also be allowed to vote on who will be the next inductees.

Those who are nominated must meet a certain type of criteria to be eligible for nomination. The criteria includes that the player must have competed in high stakes action against top players in the industry. The nominated individual must be forty years of age before the August 15th due date and must have gained the respect of their peers by participating in good game play consistently throughout their career. The player or person nominated must have stood the test of time in the industry. Anyone who is nominated that is not a player must have contributed to the growth of poker and provide lasting as well as positive effects on the game.

It is always interesting to see who is nominated for this prestigious group of players. Once the ballot list is complete, the two finalists will be chosen and then they will join a group of forty members of the Poker Hall of Fame, nineteen of which are still living.